ACT Junior Chess League
Promoting Junior Chess in the Capital
Calendar and Results

ACTJCL Calendar of Events 2017
Version of 8 February 2017

[Some non-ACTJCL events included in italics for information]

Venue for ACTJCL tournaments/events is the School Hall, Campbell High School, except where a different venue is indicated (in bold type).

Squad, Chess Chicks and Winter Camp dates are indicative only and subject to the availability of suitable volunteers to run these activities.

Term 1
Date Event Flyer/Results
Monday 9th to Thurs 12th January Summer Holiday Boot Camp
- Coaching and Lightning
- Allegro
- Tournament
Coaching/Lightning
Allegro
Tournament
Sunday 12 February Lightning Championship
Yes
Sunday 19 February Girls Allegro
Yes
Sunday 5 March Autumn Allegro
Yes
Sunday 12 March Canberra Academy of Chess
School's Chess Challenge at Westfield Woden
Details
Entry
Friday 10 to Monday 13 March ACT Championships
No
Saturday 25 to Sunday 26 March Autumn Weekender
Yes
Tuesday April 4 Northside Girls Primary
Yes
Friday April 7 Southside Girls Primary
Yes
Sunday 9 April Canberra Academy of Chess
Chess Challenge #13
Yes
Wednesday 12 April Canberra Academy of Chess
Woden Holiday Coaching Clinic (Autumn)
Yes
Thursday 13 to Monday 17 April Doeberl Cup
University House, 1 Balmain Cres, Acton
Yes
Tuesday 18 to Friday 21 April Autumn Boot Camp
- Coaching and Lightning
- Allegro
- Tournament

Lightning
Allegro
Tournament


Term 2

Date Event Flyer/Results
Sunday 28 May Under 8 Championships
Yes
Saturday 3 June Canberra Academy of Chess
Woden Saturday Fun Tournament
Yes
Sunday 18 June Primary Allegro (K-3 and 4-6) and Secondary Allegro (7-12)
Yes
Monday 3 to Friday 7 July Australian Junior Elite Training Squad
No
Tuesday 4 July Canberra Academy of Chess
Woden Holiday Coaching Clinic (Winter)
Yes
Friday 7 July Canberra Academy of Chess
Chess Challenge #14
Yes
Tuesday 11 to Friday 14 July
(second Week of Holidays)
Winter Boot Camp
- Coaching and Lightning
- Allegro
- Tournament

Lightning
Allegro
Tournament
Saturday 22 to Sunday 23 July Girls Development Weekend
No
TBA Girls Secondary
TBA
No
TBA Tuggeranong Zone Open Primary
TBA
No
TBA Central Zone Open Primary
TBA
No
TBA Woden/Weston Zone Open Primary
TBA
No
TBA Gunghalin Zone Open Primary
TBA
No
TBA Belconnen Zone Open Primary
TBA
No
TBA South Canberra Zone Open Secondary
TBA
No
TBA North Canberra Zone Open Secondary
TBA
No


Term 3
Date Event Flyer/Results
Saturday 5 August Canberra Academy of Chess
Woden Saturday Fun Tournament
Yes
Sunday 13 August Under 10 Championships
Yes
Sunday 20 August Junior Allegro Championships
Yes
TBA ANU Open
ANU School of Art, Childers St Acton ACT
No
TBA ANU Primary Schools Chess Championship
Great Hall, University House, ANU,
Balmain Crescent, Acton
No
TBA ANU Secondary Schools Chess Championship
Great Hall, University House, ANU,
Balmain Crescent, Acton
No
Tuesday 26 September
(second week of school holidays)
Spring Boot Camp Allegro

Yes
Wednesday 27 to Friday 29 September
(first week of school holidays)
ACT Junior Championships
(FIDE and ACF Rated Long Time Tournament)
Yes
Sunday 1 October Canberra Academy of Chess
Chess Challenge #15
Yes
Tuesday 3 October Canberra Academy of Chess
Woden Holiday Coaching Clinic (Spring)
Yes
Wednesday 4 October to Friday 6 October
(second week of school holidays)
Spring Boot Camp
- Coaching and Lightning
- Long Time Tournament

Coaching and Lightning
Long Time Tournament
TBA Girls Primary School Championships Final
TBA
No
TBA North Canberra Secondary Zone
TBA
No
TBA Open Primary School Championships Final
TBA
No


Term 4
Date Event Flyer/Results
Saturday 21 October Canberra Academy of Chess
Woden Saturday Fun Tournament
Yes
Sunday 22 October Under 12 Championships
No
Sunday 5 November Canberra Academy of Chess
School's Chess Challenge at Melba
Details
Entry
Saturday 11 to Sunday 12 November Under 14/16 Championships
No
Sunday 3 December Canberra Academy of Chess
Canberra Xmas Swiss Chess Challenge 2017
Yes
Sunday 10 December Transfer Chess Tournament and Presentation Day
No
Monday 8th to Thurs 11th January 2018 Summer Holiday Boot Camp
- Coaching and Lightning
- Allegro
- Tournament
No
TBA Open Secondary School Championships Final
TBA
No
TBA ASTC Girls Primary Playoff Weekend
No
TBA Girls Secondary School Championships Final
TBA
No
TBA ASTC Open Primary and Secondary Playoff Weekend
No
TBA Vikings Weekender
Vikings Club, Gartside Street, Erindale
No