2006/07 Festival of Junior Chess
Chess in the Capital
Thank You to Australia’s Young Chessplayers!
The ACT Junior Chess League was proud to host you for the –

2006 Australian Schools Teams Championships
11-12 December 2006
Hotel Heritage, Narrabundah

and the

2007 Australian Junior Championships
14-26 January 2007
Hotel Heritage Narrabundah

Congratulations to all our prizewinners – you’ll find them all listed on the website along with all the results, the games and our Bulletins (including a special edition, 27 January Bulletin (765 Kb)!). If you can’t find what you’re looking for please get in touch.

And while I have your attention here – right on the front page – and before you go too far away, I’d like to use this front page to acknowledge again the amazing support we have had from our community. Support from our sponsors, particularly major sponsor O2C, but from every sponsor, large or small, who contributed to the enjoyment of the participants over our events. Support from local politicians – MLA Bill Stefaniak, Member for Fraser Bob McMullan and Senator Gary Humphries. Support from local media – ABC TV and radio, The Canberra Times, The Canberra Chronicle, The Queanbeyan Age and WIN TV. And support from the ACT Government through the Events Assistance Program.

And especially support from the ACTJCL “army” and “honorary members” listed below. Congratulations everyone and thank you!

Jill Baines Charles Bishop Sue Cole
Scott Colliver Matthew Dunstone Roland Eime
Jim Flood Geoff Foster Wendy Gamble
David Gruen Mirabelle Guo Rebekah Gupte
Mona Huang Shun Ikeda Tor Lattimore
Jenny Mason Simon Mitchell Christine Moore
Nigel Nettheim Jennie Nicholson Jenni Oliver
Shaun Press Rosina Rayns Ian Rout
Agus Setiabudi Michael Smith Tara Smith
John Spooner Jenny Wilkinson Wan Wong
Lu Yi Charles Zworestine

We had meant to have yet another lucky draw at the event for some prizes for our volunteers but we got a bit caught up with other things. However the draw has been done and –

Shaun Press has won a night’s accommodation at Bay Waters.

Jenny Mason & Wan Wong have each won a $50 voucher from Podfood.

The Guptes & Gruens also had a night at the Brumbies (courtesy of their opponents – the Wellington Hurricanes).

Farewell from Canberra then. We wish you every success and lots of fun as you continue in the clever sport!

Libby Smith
Tournament Director
Australian Junior Chess Festival